20130219 — Modifying the Process

So, the basic writing “process” I’ve been working on/with is to:

1)  Develop the backstory/motivations and basic conflicts for each main character (protag and antag)

2)  Develop/decide on the plot points (inciting incident->first quarter end->mid-point->third quarter end->black moment->resolution) for each of the storylines/main characters.

3)  Write a 4-5 sentence paragraph where each sentence encapsulates one of the 4 sections of the book.  The fifth sentence is for any clean-up required.  I do this for each storyline/main character.

4)  Write a 2 page story summary where basically each of the paragraph sentences gets converted into half a page.

5)  Write a 5 page story summary that generates more detail from the 2 page story summary.

6)  Expand on the 5 page summary, creating scenes by adding Text Files in Scrivener for each scene with a paragraph in each file giving an overview of what needs to happen.  In the past, I just created Scene Titles at this stage.  Then when I came back through, I had scenes where I had no idea what they were for.

7)  Come back through and expand each of the scene descriptions into an actual scene using the Weekend Novelist’s Down The Page along with Holly’s Revision Note items.

At each stage of the process, I try to look at the story to figure out where it’s got problems.  This way, I can hopefully resolve problems at a higher level instead of letting them trickle down.

I’m trying to follow these steps for Revision as well as for writing new novels.  With the extra added step of identifying correlations between what I originally wrote with what I now need.

I’m in the Paragraph per storyline stage right now.  Yesterday, I finished up getting the major storyline plot points and created Paragraphs for Alicia and Cheryl.  But today, I realize that I’m trying to jam-pack too much into each paragraph sentence.  I’m putting in too much detail instead of taking a higher level approach.  

One Response to “20130219 — Modifying the Process”

  1. Yeah, the detail level stuff gets me every time, especially in first draft. The Muse is so busy checking out the shiny scenery that I lose sight of high level thought processes!
    Sounds like a good system you have here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

