Status Report — 7/3/12

Wow.

I’ve been hella busy the past few weeks.  I finished the first draft of Shadowhunter’s Son.  It’s crap.  I dropped so many story lines, it’s not even funny.  And then ending?  Just all kinds of dumb.

I got the critiques back of The Queen of Balthazar.  Some of the stuff was interesting.  Some of the stuff was unexpected.  I am not as good at grammar as I thought I was.  Gotta fix that.  I’ve got to:

1) Plump up my storyline between The Bodyguard and The Maid.

2) Re-organize and re-arrange the bad guys, who they work for, why they’re doing what they’re doing, and add more scenes to show their side more.

3)  Craft the damn final battle set-piece thing that brings everything together.  No one actually commented about the gaping hole at the end of the book, but we all know it’s there.  I gotta fix that.

Over this past weekend, I wrote up a scene list that mostly takes care of points 1 and 2 above.  Today, I wrote 1114 words of a new beginning/prologue.

I’ve got a short story due on Thursday/Friday.  I’ve got 239 words of it written so far and it is teh suck.  According to the “rules”, it can’t be science fiction or fantasy or sail-punk.  It’s got to be something I haven’t been writing.  So… it’s just straight up contemporary.  A guy looking for love.  No explosions.  No space ships.  No sorcery.

I’ve also decided that my next project is going to be a final revision of Gartan’s Book.  I’ve had to put that away for the past year as I worked on novels for classes I was in.  Hopefully, I can develop a process for revision similar to what I have in place for writing my first drafts.

 

EDIT:  I almost forgot.  Our upstairs AC broke down on Saturday.  My office and my computer are upstairs.  Because of the volume of people in the area needing ACs fixed, we couldn’t get anyone out here till Thursday.  So the past few days, I’ve been sweltering in a room that’s been getting hotter and hotter.  It was hard to work today, the temp was probably in the 90’s.

2 Responses to “Status Report — 7/3/12”

  1. Texanne Says:

    Glad to know you’re still writing seriously! Wish you’d drop by the forum and say hello. You’ve missed two changes of color schemes already. 🙂

    Sailpunk? Gotta learn about that one. TX

  2. LOL Texanne. 🙂 The interior decorator has been working overtime to keep the forums looking spiffy.

    That seems to be the thing about first drafts, though. Every time I start another one, I’m all gung ho, hoping this is going to be the Best Story Ever, and think I’ve got it all figured out, but then towards the end, it’s like … oops … this needs some revision.

    A finished draft is a lovely invitation to start revising. All that promise is still there, but needs a steady hand and some dedication to come out the other end with a proper novel.

    I’m still working on that, by the way. 🙂

    It’s always good to hear from you, TPN.

Leave a Reply

