Gartan’s Book – 4/26/11

I know it’s not the 26th but I’ve fallen a bit behind in my updates here.

I’ve joined Savvy Authors and I’ve gone a little Workshop crazy.  They’re inexpensive and it’s a great way to learn.  But I’ve been spending a lot of time working on assignments instead of working on the book.  I can’t really complain, though, because I think that the work I’m doing will improve my writing.

On Monday, I ended up writing about 1600 words.   They were all words for workshop assignments but they were words, darnit.  On the 26th, I revised my 2nd and 3rd scene and netted about 200 words.  I was able to incorporate some of the setting and theme stuff and I think those were 200 words well netted.

Yesterday, I only wrote about 500 words.  But they were for Devon Ellington’s Setting workshop and there was a lot of research involved.  I now know a bunch more about Timbuktu than I knew before yesterday.  And 250 of those words were a description of a location in Gartan’s book and I’m thinking about incorporating some of that into the book.

Tonight is the NFL draft.  I’m a football fanatic and I’ll be watching every minute of that.  And I’ve also got to be part of a Team Chat.  I’ve joined a team for the Savvy Author May Bootcamp; we are the Oracles Of Legend (dun dun duhhhhhn.)

Next month is going to be crazy.

2 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 4/26/11”

  1. Texanne Says:

    Hey–where are you? You okay? We haven’t seen you in a coon’s age.

    Driftsmoke has resigned as moderator, and I’ve suggested you as her successor. I don’t think anyone is better at helping the other students than you are, and you’re fun to have around.

    Only, um, you haven’t been around. Things have been seriously crazy in my life for the past few months, so I wasn’t keeping up with the forum in detail, the way I should have. Trying to get back to it, but I’m weak–very weak–when it comes to revision.

    Hope you came through the hailstorms okay. We’ve had some damage to the car, and my brother lost two skylights, but no one was hurt.

    Let me hear from you–either at the email address that’s on your subscription form, or with a PM in the forum, or a DM on Twitter, or on my Facebook page (Texanne Kelly).

    Things are really popping over at HTTS. The Walkthrough is gangbusters, and have you got the new John Locke book?

    Okay, I just hope you see this. :)TX

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    Hey!

    Are you OK? Personally, I’m fine.

    I’ve just been really busy the past couple of months — my company has a lot of high priority projects going and I’ve worked every weekend for the past two months. I’ve also been taking a lot of workshops over at Savvy Authors and I’ve been writing a LOT.

    Although I’m honored to be suggested as a moderator, I don’t see how I could have time for that right now.

    We made it through the hailstorms OK. Our roof took a pounding but it’s OK.

    I really should post a little something about my status. And with the Bootcamps finishing up at Savvy, maybe I will get back to daily updates here.

Leave a Reply

