Gartan’s Book – 1/19/11

30 scenes down, 69 to go.

The story is actually getting kinda exciting now.  The early part of the book was written really badly, very tight with no description or feeling.  When I realized how crappy I was writing (around scene 17-18), I made an effort to put more into it and these scenes are a pretty good start for a rough draft.  I had some thoughts about a way to tighten the story up a bit (drop one character and shave off a day’s worth of stuff), but after reading these scenes… I don’t really want to cut them.

With the New Year, Audrey’s travel restrictions have been lifted.  So she’s in DC at a conference right now.  Including this week, she’ll be gone 3 out of 4 weeks.  Hopefully I can get more work done than I’ve gotten the past couple of nights.  I’ve been watching movies and relaxing more than working on the book.  BUT… in my defense, work has been pretty brutal the past few days.  I released some new functionality to our client test  and unfortunately, it looks like some of the code I’d written had gotten wiped when we changed our version control servers.    That caused some hiccups.

3 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 1/19/11”

  1. I know what you mean about relaxing. I am watching tennis every day now the Australian Open is on. Great games! I am trying to get in an hour or two writing, but not succeeding very well. I did get some done today, just under 2000 words in one scene. The story is at the stage that I wonder why I ever started, and now I am bogged down. Still, I know how to get the characters out of it if I keep writing. Hopefully.
    I am still available as a beta reader, if you want one. 🙂

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    I would love to have you as a beta reader! 🙂

    As soon as I have something to beta read, I’ll be knocking on your door.

  3. Good luck with your writing!
    Come and join the 500 words a day challenge group on HTTS – it doesn’t have to be 500 words – it can be whatever you want.

    Hope you sorted out your wiped code too!

Leave a Reply

