Queen of Balthazar – 11/10/10

1582 words.

The Princess and her crew dock at the pirate station and begin offloading their loot.  A man gives a message to the Princess from a Duke who has his own fleet and who wants to join up to break a blockade and help some freedom fighters.  The Princess is noncommittal.  But the Princess knows that one of those freedom fighters is her old bodyguard who allowed himself to be taken to save her.  So it’s time she save him.

I had intended to get a lot more words than this on my day off but it was very hard to shift gears from Gartan’s Damned Book to The Queen of Balthazar, from fantasy to space opera.  I don’t remember any of the minor characters in the story any more… and reading back through it to familiarize myself with it again, it’s got more problems than I remember.  I spent most of the day just figuring out what needed to happen next.  I need to be more focused with the plotting on this thing, it was meandering a bit.  There are about 10,000 words I think I’ll probably cut out of this because I was just letting myself run wild with it.

Hopefully, I get more word count back up.  I’m 10 days into Nano and I’ve written 20,000 words.  So I’m happy with that.  I just have to keep it up.

Leave a Reply

