Gartan’s Book – 11/8/10

1860 words. 1 Fable and part of a scene.

The Fable told the story of how the Demon with 1000 voices was tricked into destroying a Devil Lord’s citadel and starting a war for the lordship of the first layer of Hell and how he was carried out to sea where he was swallowed by Leviathan and he died and was reborn and died and reborn in Leviathan’s digestive system until he was pooped out.  (And that’s why he’s afraid of crossing running water, afraid that it will carry him out to sea and Leviathan will get him again… which Leviathan has promised he will do.  The scene was just a little snippet continuing the Governor’s story of exploring the antag’s house looking for a confrontation.

I really sat down having no idea what I was going to write for the Fable.  I was afraid that I wasn’t going to have enough to write tonight at all.  Turns out, this was the longest of the Fables by about 500 words.  And it was very fun to write.  I expected to finish the book tonight, but I’ve got to finish the snippet and then write one scene and… that’s it for this book.  I’m taking Wednesday off and I’m going to plot the remaing parts of the Queen’s book which is what Nano is supposed to be about finishing.

3 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 11/8/10”

  1. So, how does it feel to complete a novel, knowing the structure and conflicts are all completed? All you have to do later is look for typos. Well done!

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    This is the first novel that I’ve completed knowing that all I’ve got to do is some minor tweaks. This is the 3rd version of the 1st novel I ever wrote.

    The 1st version was an absolute mess that I only completed because I’d started HTTS halfway through. I started the revision of that and realized it had a fatal flaw. That led to the 2nd version, which was much tighter but I had a feeling that something was seriously wrong with it. I took that 2nd version through HTRYN and realized what was wrong and that the best way to fix it was a rewrite.

    I’m crossing my fingers that this version holds up. After I do the type-in, I’m going to take it through HTRYN one more time.

    I’ve learned a ton from going through this process.

  3. Yes, HTRYN was an eye opener course.

    So, congrats, well done. Party hats all round, and down a beer or wine. 🙂

    Also good luck with beta readers when you get some.

Leave a Reply

