Gartan’s Book – 10/27/10

622 words.

The protag climbs down from the pile of rubble and sees a glittering mist flowing away from the rubble and down the hall.  It looks familiar in her magelight.  She realizes she saw the antag turn into a similar mist when she stabbed him with a pole through the chest.  Then she hears someone groan behind her.  She turns to defend herself thinking it’s the manservant but it’s the governor.  She considers leaving him there to die.  The rubble has gotten into the fireplace and the place is about to go up in flames.  But the antag has escaped so she climbs the pile of rubble and douses the flame.

Wrote this in Scrivener.  Starting to really dig it even though it’s a beta copy and it’s got some bugs and missing functionality. 

BUT… my story is growing slightly beneath my fingertips.  I don’t see how I’m going to finish this before Nano starts.  Do I drop this and go on to the Nano story and then come back to this?  Or does it count if I start Nano by finishing this and then work on the next story when I get to it?  And do I write the Swordsman and the Seeress or do I go back to The Queen of Balthazar which is about halfway done?

Decisions, decisions.  But I have learned that my wife is going to be travelling a lot in November SO I’m not going to be neglecting her by spending all my spare time writing.  🙂

3 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 10/27/10”

  1. My suggestion is to finish this novel, because to get published the story must be complete. Then repeat with the next and the next. 🙂

    You should be allowed to add the words typed to the monthly count, because I think the idea behind Nano is to get words written, not necessarily for one story only. And this is the HTRYN revision, isn’t it? You will also complete HTRYN course at the same time. Just my two cents worth.

    Also, my take on success is completing projects, not starting projects. Good luck whichever decision you choose.

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    Diane…

    Thank you for slapping me upside the head.

    For some reason, I was stuck in the mind set that Nano had to be 1 novel and it pretty much had to be fresh and new. I had toyed with the idea of completing the Princess’ story for Nano but it felt like cheating if I wasn’t starting something new for Nano. So I decided on doing something new.

    Of course it’s better to finish things than to start them. So, first I’ll finish Gartan’s Book and then I’ll finish The Queen of Balthazar and that should cover Nano. If I complete both of those, then I’ll jump into Anotherwhen.

    Thanks!

  3. My main problem is completing projects so I recognised the signs in your case, but you are welcome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

