Gartan’s Book – 10/18/10

430 words.

The vampire runs away from the protag and she chases him, cautiously.  She finds him in a long hallway holding the bodies of two dead lawmen.  He laughs at her and attacks.   And the protag brings the cieling down on him.  As he crawls out from the rubble.  She drives the stake into his heart and kills him.

I also spent a lot of time thinking about my latest idea for Nano.  I have a bunch of OLD stories that I’ve been considering resurrecting as well as the story I was working on prior to HTRYN but I also wanted to call down the lightning by coming up with at least 2 possible new stories.  I’ve come up with 1 already and my original take on this was as a SteamPunk Western with some magic involved.  My initial thought basically had a gunslinger trying to find some sort of retirement to a simple life as a farmhand but his past coming back to haunt him AND a woman who can see the past and future and has problems keeping her current time straight.  But after playing with the idea in my head, I think I’ll move this from a semi-Western thing into more of a Sword and Sorcery genre that I feel more comfortable with.  Instead of a gunslinger, he’s a swordsman who was once a lord.  The story is about the forgiveness that you can get from those you love even for things that you really don’t want to ever think about ever again.  I really like this idea but I’m not sure i”m good enough to write the seer as I envision her. 

Now, I need another idea.

One Response to “Gartan’s Book – 10/18/10”

  1. I, too, keep myself from writing all the ideas I have by putting up that “I may not be good enough” wall. It’s beginning to make me wonder: if we’re not good enough to write these ideas, why were they given to us? I like to think that life is fair and that both sides of an equal sign are, um, equal.

    What really stops us? Is it the fear that we’ll waste a story idea by tackling it too soon? What? Like we’re never going to have such a good idea again?

    Write what makes you happy, even if it scares you. You can’t waste an idea, except by NOT writing it. Onward.

Leave a Reply

