Gartan’s Book – 9/1/10

3 more pages, finished the scene.  The thief spoke with an old hag who’s a crime boss and got a promise of a lot of money if he’d bring her another crime boss’ head.

And then I realized that I was adding a very colorful new character at the last section of the book along with a new character that I’d have to add.  And if I was going to make my thief assassinate someone, it needed to be something that caused him some sort of moral and ethical crisis.  This scene did absolutely nothing good for the story.

So I’m pitching these 5 pages I’ve done over the past couple of days and starting fresh.

2 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 9/1/10”

  1. Couldn’t the thief tell the old hag no? Looks like a great setup for a sequel.
    Or, it could be your muse trying to throw a monkey wrench in where the monkeys are already well-adjusted.

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    Yeah, the old hag was a bad idea for this story at this time. In another story, she’d be great.

    This scene was supposed to just be a thief looking for a big score and in my original idea, he was supposed to be asking a friend I’d introduced earlier in the book. But as I was writing, the friend morphed into someone who’d be willing to give him a pay day. But I’ve realized that’s not what he would do or how he would do it.

Leave a Reply

