Gartan’s Book – 8/19/10

Um, wow.

I had a really busy day at work today and I’m going to be very busy tomorrow as well.  Recently, I’ve been trying to write at least a page either in the morning or at lunch or both and then get a page or two at night.  Usually a page takes me about 30-45 minutes depending on how things are going.

Today, I didn’t have time to write in the morning or at lunch.  I had to work.  So I was hoping to get a page tonight because I had about an hour to write.  I got three freaking pages.  These three pages just poured out.  I was writing so fast I couldn’t believe it.

While the Governor and his mage were talking, the lawmen with them heard that the protag’s hubby needed to be put down.  So one of them tried to do it and instead accidentally dispelled the spell that was keeping him caged.  Lots of death and destruction and in general, running away.  But it ended up with the mage being able to cast a spell that grabbed the Governor and the protag’s hubby and threw them outside into the sunlight.  Killing the protag’s husband.

This scene was from the Governor’s perspective.  The next scene is basically from the protag’s perspective.  I might cut the last half page of what I wrote tonight and put the protag’s perspective of watching her hubby, who she knew how to save, dying in the sunlight while she’s laying on the ground bound and unable to help.

3 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 8/19/10”

  1. Isn’t it great when you get in the flow? It seems your Muse was just saving up the whole day for it.

    Sorry about your protag’s husband. But I’m sure you have some interesting stuff up your sleeve for her.

  2. I am at the type-in stage of HTRYN with only a hand full of new scenes. I aim for 10 revised pages per day, weekends off, and so far, I am hitting my target. I already added 4K of words to the story, which is good because it was 13k too short. I wish you good luck on your revision/rewrite.

  3. thepencilneck Says:

    Yes, EK, I love it when I can’t seem to write fast enough to keep up with the images and words in my head. It sure beats sitting there looking at the paper thinking… “what the hell?”

    And thanks, Cat. I can’t wait to get to type-in, I’m just about 100 pages away. And I should be able to get that in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

