Gartan’s Book – 8/18/10

I didn’t write yesterday.  It was a weird day.

So… my wife has been experimenting with some OTC pills to help her sleep.  And there was one that she was complaining about that she thinks upset her stomach AND had a really weird sweet taste that she absolutely hated.  On Monday night, I took one just to see what it tasted like.  (I rarely need anything to help me sleep.)  And it did taste weirdly sweet but not nearly as bad as she said it was.  The problem for me was that the whole next day, I was toast.  I woke up and worked out as usual and then had absolutely no energy left.  I couldn’t focus enough to write at lunch like I’ve been doing lately and after lunch, I was falling asleep during a conference call.  I never do that.  I called off a meeting and then went to bed at 1pm and slept until 5pm.  THEN, I had to go to sleep as early as I could because I had to get up early today and take my wife to the airport.

So… no writing.

Today, I felt better.  I got some work done, at least.  And I expected to get a lot of writing done but had a screw up at the airport that blew my night schedule.  So, I wrote at lunch at work and then after dinner.  I got 3.5 pages of a scene that’s not quite done, yet.

The Governor and his mage have the protag (who’s unconscious) taken outside and then upstairs, they find the protag’s hubby turned into a mindless ravening vampire trapped by a spell cast by the protag.  The Governor, who is a friend of the protag’s hubby, is very distraught and blames the protag (thinking that she’s been practicing some dark magic that caused this.)

The interesting thing to me is how this is telescoping.  I knew this was an important scene before I got here but in my focused outline, it was a single scene.  Initially that scene had grown into 3 scenes.  It may actually have grown to 4 and spawned a few scenes further down the line that I hadn’t realized I needed.  Some very cool things are coming together.

4 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 8/18/10”

  1. Sorry to hear about your unhappy pill-tasting experiment. I’ve never taken a pill to put me to sleep, and you’ve made me glad of that!

    The relationship between your protagonist and her husband baffles me–therefore, of course, I can’t wait to read the finished product! Interesting to see how your scenes move about under your hands, even as organized and controlled as you are. Now I know to be on the lookout for this in my own work.

    Feel better, do good work.

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    Really? Baffles you?

    With the husband and wife, I tried to show the clash of culture. It’s really a lesson in how you can love and respect someone but if they come from a different culture and hold different things sacred, it’s very easy to to think they’re over-reacting to things when they’re really just doing what they see as inarguably right. With the protag and her husband, I wanted to show a couple very much in love but still alien to each other in some very deep ways and that leads to argument and misunderstanding.

    In this case, I don’t think either side is totally right or totally wrong but they’re both wrong in that they did not come together and work together as a couple to solve this. They were both blinded by their own cultural biases.

    At least… that’s what I was shooting for. Hopefully, I’ll achieve it.

    With my first couple of drafts, I wasn’t putting enough emotion into the characters. My characters were just a bunch of robots running around and doing things. With this draft, I’ve really tried to dig into the feelings of the POV character that I’m following in each scene. Hopefully, that will make the reasons characters are doing things more believable and make the characters themselves more likable.

  3. Hi, Pencilneck. I pop in every once in a while and I’ve been reading your last few posts and I’m really enjoying your story. But reading your comment above really intrigued me. I’m sure a great many marriages in history (royal families come to mind) have dealt with that sort of thing. I love the clashing cultures theme!

  4. thepencilneck Says:

    Thanks, EK. Don’t be a stranger. 🙂

Leave a Reply

