Gartan’s Book – 8/13/10

Finished up the scene with the Thief meeting his GF’s parents.  He wanted to talk to them and convince them not to make her marry another man.  He was politely eating dinner with them and doing a passable job at it, when they served him garlic lamb.

And he didn’t know about vampires and garlic.

Ouch.

He had to leave.

Didn’t get to talk to them about his GF.  Too bad.

I’m wondering if I should make the scene go even worse for the boy.

2 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 8/13/10”

  1. Okay, TPN, I nearly spewed my Folgers over this one. Poor guy–first he makes a poor career choice, thief, then he gets a girlfriend, which requires a huge hit of optimism from a thief, then he gets turned into a vampire, and then (clutching hanky to my chest here) his girlfriend’s mother serves him garlic!

    Some guys have all the (bad) luck. TX

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    Originally, this guy was my hero. In the original story, he had tried to change his ways and he was going straight.

    In THIS story, I think I’ve already kinda messed up his character. This guy is darker. What I want to bring out in him is the struggle of trying to decide to go straight so that he can win this girl’s hand or continue with his old thieving ways so that he can make enough money to get a healer for his mother AND still compete with the girl who’s going to be promised to a lower level noble.

    In my FO, I really cut back the number of scenes for this guy but I think I’m going to expand my story here a bit. I’m going to give him a few more scenes to explore this question and then when he decides that maybe he would prefer to be human again… well… you’ll just have to read along to find out what happens.

Leave a Reply

