Gartan’s Book – 8/6/10

I was supposed to work on a scene last night where my 2nd protag goes home and runs into his mother and sees her in a different perspective with his new senses.  But when I started visualizing the scene, I was NOT feeling it.  The “mother is sick” storyline was a leftover from the original story where I was using that as a motivation for the hero to get more money.  She also provided some “secrets” because of the hero learning who his father is.  But the thief is no longer the hero.  The story line I’ve really set up for him is about him trying to fit back into his old life after being turned into a vampire.

So, I jumped ahead a scene and I’m working on a seduction scene where the antag shows up in the protag’s MIL’s bedroom as she’s preparing for bed.  I wrote two pages of that.

I want to finish that tonight and then go back and pick up the scene with the Thief.  I’ve got a better feel about what should happen there. 

I was also screwing around with GIMP and making book covers.  GIMP is like a poor man’s Photoshop.  It’s got some really cool effects.

2 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 8/6/10”

  1. I really admire the way you stay with it, roll with it. You’re a great example.

    I was thinking last night that photography could be a very suitable art for covers–and here you are showing that it certainly can be. Thanks!

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    One of the things I do is “cast” my characters. My heroine in Gartan’s Book is Zhang Ziyi. I’ve collected several pictures of her in some of her roles (like Crouching Tiger) when I write my character. I try to hear her voice. This was one of the pictures that I’d collected for her and I think it makes pretty good cover art.

    I probably couldn’t actually USE the picture but it helps me get into the feel for the book. I’ve got a binder for the book and this is now on the front cover. My wife thought my other front covers had too “harsh” of a picture of her.

Leave a Reply

