Gartan’s Book – 7/26/10

2 pages tonight.  Got partway through a scene.  I’m feeling a little guilty that I didn’t spend more time working on it.

But this scene really tasked me.  I had some things I wanted to show but it wasn’t a fully developed scene.  What I had in my FO was really just a dollop of information.  I changed the bulk of the scene from my protag finding out that she can’t leave the city via boat because the bay is frozen for the winter and no boats are going to be in dock until spring to a run-in with her mother-in-law at my protag’s favorite restaurant (after spending the morning trying to find a boat out of the city).  This heightens the tension and conflict because she was just supposed to be going to her doctor for some medication and if her hubby finds out that she was doing other stuff, it’s going to be bad for their relationship.  And the MIL wants my protag out of everyone’s lives and isn’t afraid to be nasty about it.

Hmmm… now that I think about it, I think it would be better if my protag was at the restaurant talking to the ship owner and the MIL (and her posse) come up at the end of that converstaion.  So then the MIL can be all “Planning on going somewhere?  No?  Shame.”

2 Responses to “Gartan’s Book – 7/26/10”

  1. Wow. That is pretty cool–don’t often get to read about the in-laws of a character is a big fantasy novel. I’m picturing Endora. Open hostility with superiority. How does MIL behave when your protagonist’s husband is around? I imagine that MIL is better at manipulating the husband than anybody, because she’s had all these years in which to perfect her poison. Quite an interesting book you’re creating there.

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    The MIL plays the hubby like a Stradivarius. Part of what I wrote too thin at the beginning of the book was a scene with the MIL playing the hubby at a dinner party.

    I haven’t posted but last night I scrapped what I had written here and instead, the protag met the ship owner at the restaurant and the MIL overheard part of the conversation. From this the MIL thinks that the protag is leaving the husband (which she’s not, she’s just trying to get the book back to its rightful owners), so the MIL is going to HELP the protag but be super nasty about it. I haven’t written that part, yet. I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out.

Leave a Reply

