A Month Later

So.  Status.  🙂

As usual, life has been wild.  We got certified (YAY).  But our 18 year old cat (that we just adopted) got really sick and for a few weeks, most of my free time was spent taking care of her.   She was too weak to get out of her bed.  So I held her food and water up for her to eat.  But she wasn’t eating enough and she got weaker and weaker.  I was having to carry her to the litter box.  And finally, we had to come to grips with the fact that she wasn’t going to get better.  So we had her put to sleep.

It’s the first time I’ve ever had to make that decision and it wrecked me.  She was such a sweet cat.

On the writing front, I let things lapse for awhile.  Now I’ve convinced myself that I need to revise a story to get the revision process down and then FINISH my first novel before continuing on with the Princess’ story.  So I’m going through the HTRYN revision process on a short story that I wrote as a character sketch for a character in the Princess’ story.  After I do that, then I’m going to go back and do the HTRYN from the start on my first novel.  Before the year’s over, I want a completed novel that I can point to and say, “That’s done.”

After I get all that, then I’ll come back to the Princess.

2 Responses to “A Month Later”

  1. Good luck with HTRYN. I finished and love the end result.
    Now I want to get back to writing, if only for a few hours a day, and spend the rest of each day working HTRYN magic on my next two completed books.
    Oh, congrats on certification and sorry to hear the news about your cat.

  2. I’m sorry about your cat, too. All of our animals right now are young. We don’t know how old the cat is, but she seems young, so we’re going with that. It sure does hurt when you lose one, though.

    We’ve been missing you over at the forums. Do what you truly need to do with your writing, but don’t let the negative emotions–or exhaustions–of real life convince you that your writing is horrible, or that the book is wrecked, or any of that other stuff that the Four Thinking Barriers can throw at you.

    Hope to see you back in the fray soon. You’re very good at understanding and explaining the process to other students, and you help light up the place.

Leave a Reply

