WABWM – 4/2/10

627 Words… kinda.

WRITING:  So, I took a break from writing for… I don’t know… a month?  I did it because I was sick, and I was tired, and I had a lot of work to do.  I just flat out did not feel like writing at all. 

When I came back after the hiatus, I just started writing by the seat of my pants.  I really wasn’t following any plot cards or anything.  I had forgotten the process I had been following while writing this story.

In my first novel (both incarnations), I got through it by creating Plot Cards in Vizio.  I had the entire story mapped out that way and then basically followed the cards. I occasionally strayed but just added new cards to reflect the new scenes I’d added along the way.

But for this novel, I’d been trying to follow something that Bell had mentioned in his Plot book.  And that’s plotting just the next few scenes.  I was doing this by writing a paragraph per scene instead of a sentence per scene.  It gave me a better feel for what I was planning.  Then before writing the scene, I sat down and created the SFR for the scene and started writing.

Tonight, I remembered all that.  And I pulled up my paragraph outline of the story (several paragraphs are missing now and there were some paragraphs in there that I skipped that I really like) and I mapped out what’s going to happen over the next 8-9 scenes.  I’m excited now about what’s coming up.  And that’s what my 627 words were.  Planning, not novel.

LIFE:  Well, crap.  They scheduled another certification meeting for Monday.  It’s WAY too soon for another one and there’s a lot of work to do.  So.  I’m working all weekend.  AND a piece of code that I created (and thoroughly tested) doesn’t work when it’s integrated with the UI.  When I run it manually or from a test script, it performs beautifully but call it from the UI and 3 important pieces of information magically disappear and my function craps out.  This made no sense to me for a couple of hours.  But I’ve traced it back and the error isn’t really coming from my code.  Somehow, the code that calls mine is wiping out those pieces of information before calling mine and so they don’t exist when my code is called.  After my code fails, the calling code rolls back its changes… which makes those pieces of information re-appear.  So I’ve got to trace this back and find a way to fix whatever’s wiping that data.  And this wasn’t even what I was planning on working on this weekend.  😦

4 Responses to “WABWM – 4/2/10”

  1. Grats on figuring out what happened to your program. That’s an interesting wrinkle that could work in a spy novel. Also on remembering and getting back to your process. Good luck to The Princess!

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    So, there’s a function that saves all of the physician data except it specifically nulls out their DEA number, NPI, and State License number. Then later in the process of saving the physician, it saves those ID’s separately. When the guy that was writing the UI made the call to my function, he called it after that first call to save the physician data because, when you look at the code, that’s the obvious place to make the call.

    I figured out exactly what was happening last night as I was going to sleep. This morning, all I had to do was to trace the code and verify.

  3. thepencilneck Says:

    And if that’s not among the more boring things written about in a blog, I don’t know what is.

    But it was a heckuva puzzle to solve. 🙂

  4. I loved looking for and solving problems like that when I was working as a Software Engineer. Good luck with the changes.

    If paragraphs work for you, go with them, because a first draft is just that … a draft waiting for revision to make it better. From what I am reading in your scene descriptions, you automatically put in conflict, and conflict action, and have believable characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

