WABWM – 3/28/10

430 words.

The Princess, tired and worn out, return to the pirate port they grudgingly call home and find several warships in position around the port.

WRITING:  I spent a lot of time getting the next section roughly sketched out.  I’m just worrying that I don’t have enough interpersonal tension.  There’s lots of things happening action-wise with space ships and space stations and lots of explosions and things but I need to make this harder and more taxing on the Princess.  Ahhh, and I just realized who needs to betray her.  Without even realizing he’s betraying her.  Sweet.

2 Responses to “WABWM – 3/28/10”

  1. What I do is get the action and conflict for the scene done and write a note to myself “Need Interpersonal Tension added to this scene” and continue with the next scene. Then when I sleep or am otherwise occupied I let my muse think of how to add the missing piece to the scene. With luck I have it worked out the next day, and with no luck, I finish the draft without working it out and leave it for revision. 🙂

  2. thepencilneck Says:

    My problem with interpersonal tension isn’t with the specific scene in this case but with this part of the story arc. I want to make sure it’s there in the plot cards so I put it in once I get to the scenes. Although, once I get to the scenes, I’d probably find some personal conflict to add just as part of the process of writing it.

    Hmmm…. well… thinking back… maybe I wouldn’t find some personal conflict to add just as part of the process. 🙂 Yep. I need to add it in now before I get there.

Leave a Reply

