I’m Back

So, I’d stopped posting on this a LONG time ago.  I don’t know if I’ll continue to post but I figured it would be nice to have a place to just write down things that I’m thinking.

At the moment, I’ve got 2 things I’m working on.  My current work in progress is The Queen of Balthazar.  It’s a science fiction novel about a spoiled princess who loses her kingdom to a coup and barely escapes.  After some rude awakenings about what it’s like to be a commoner, she outwits some pirates and joins the fight against the man who deposed her father.  Although, her real nemesis is her mother.  I’m posting my progress on this in Holly Lisle’s Write A Book With Me blog.  I’m about 53,000 words into it.

I’m also going through Holly Lisle’s How To Revise Your Novel course with the first (and only) novel I’ve ever completed, One Teardrop in Windhaven.  It’s a Fantasy novel with vampires and orcs and elves and gods and all that.  But the story is about a young reformed thief who decides to do one last job so he can buy a gift for a girl… and it all goes horribly wrong.  And he ends up a vampire with no master to teach him how to be a vampire.  And he has to save the Empire because he stole something he shouldn’t have stolen.  This is actually a complete rewrite. 

The HTRYN course has been absolutely eye-opening.  It has shown me all sorts of problems in the novel that I would never have found on my own.  The How To Think Sideways course was really good.  I never would have finished One Teardrop’s first draft without it.  But the HTRYN course is even better.  But it’s a ton of work.  So I expect some of what I post here to be bitching and moaning about all the work I’m having to do.

I’ve also got a short story that I may put through the HTRYN course just as practice and a way to sharpen and hone those skills.  I’m building an Access Database with the forms and everything for filling out all the questions and as a replacement of the myriad of worksheets that you have to fill out for HTRYN.

And I’m considering going back to my original idea for One Teardrop and writing the story that I originally wanted to write.  The One Teardrop story has absolutely nothing in common with my original story idea for that which was like an old Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser story.  (Loved those old Fritz Leiber stories.)

Leave a Reply

